Trending
MOST READ
Best Lounge

Best Lounge

Best of SA 2013: 4/24/2013
Everything but the Bowie in \'David Bowie Is\'

Everything but the Bowie in 'David Bowie Is'

Screens: People love David Bowie more than you are capable of loving your family. But that’s OK—people love Bowie to an extent that your family would quite frankly... By Jeremy Martin 9/17/2014
Beaches Be Trippin\': Five Texas Coast Spots Worth the Drive

Beaches Be Trippin': Five Texas Coast Spots Worth the Drive

Arts & Culture: Let’s face it, most of us Lone Stars view the Texas coast as a poor man’s Waikiki. Hell, maybe just a poor man’s Panama Beach — only to be used... By Callie Enlow 7/10/2013
Lt. Governor Race: the \'Luchadora\' vs. the Tea Party radio host

Lt. Governor Race: the 'Luchadora' vs. the Tea Party radio host

News: A few Saturdays ago, I spent several hours hanging around a Texas Realtors Association conference in San Antonio, trying to catch state Sen. Dan Patrick... By Alexa Garcia-Ditta 9/17/2014
Our Picks for the 31st Annual Jazz’SAlive

Our Picks for the 31st Annual Jazz’SAlive

Music: Eddie Palmieri: 9:30pm Saturday. Jazz’SAlive has traditionally made sure to clear at least one headlining space for Latin jazz... By J.D. Swerzenski 9/17/2014
Calendar

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

Follow us on Instagram @sacurrent

Print Email

Music

You Me at Six Preview New Album at the White Rabbit

Photo: Courtesy photo, License: N/A

Courtesy photo

From Wembley to the White Rabbit—You Me at Six’s SA gig should be a piece of cake


It’s no secret where the band’s from, as if frontman Josh Franceschi’s thick accent wasn’t clue enough. Or maybe it’s their teasing about American quirks—like our gun laws—with a hint of jest. You Me at Six, a pop punk band whose fifth studio album comes out next year, holds mother country England dear to their hearts, but the lads are ready to conquer the U.S.

The group hopped onto any tour they could here for almost three years before headlining a full U.S. tour in 2011 to promote their third studio album, Sinners Never Sleep. Their Blink 182- and Incubus-influenced sound had already garnered fame in the United Kingdom with the 2008 debut album Take Off Your Colors. However, You Me at Six weren’t strangers to the grind of being an up-and-coming band. It took four years of steady gigging before their 2008 singles “Kiss and Tell” and “Finders Keepers” took off on the British charts. That kind of determination, and the help of the fan base gained through being Van’s Warped Tour veterans of two years, helped set the band up for across-the-pond success.

You Me at Six’s most recent U.S. tour (last spring, with All Time Low and Pierce the Veil) set the bar. Fans came early to catch their set, even though they were the first of four bands to perform on the tour and it was their first time back since Warped. The group, which had just headlined London’s Wembley arena months before in December 2012, didn’t skimp on account of their opener status, providing fans with the energetic shows that helped get them recognized as British rock mag Kerrang!’s 2011 Band of the Year.

Recently, You Me at Six announced that they would be releasing their fifth studio album, Born To Be A Band, in early 2014. Meaning: this fall tour could be the last chance to hear some of your old favorites. But don’t worry too much, while the all-ages event at the White Rabbit will be a final hurrah in SA before their next anticipated album, there’s a good chance fans will get a preview of the new songs, too.

You Me at Six feat. Cute is What We Aim For, Conditions, Dinosaur Pile-Up

$15-17
Doors at 4:30pm Sun, Sept 29
White Rabbit
2410 N St. Mary’s
(210) 737-2221
frontgatetickets.com

Recently in Music
  • The Permanent Gangsta Status of Mobb Deep’s Prodigy Prodigy, better known to ’90s rap aficionados as the prodigious half of Queensbridge duo Mobb Deep, has made a successful career operating on... | 9/17/2014
  • Our Picks for the 31st Annual Jazz’SAlive Eddie Palmieri: 9:30pm Saturday. Jazz’SAlive has traditionally made sure to clear at least one headlining space for Latin jazz... | 9/17/2014
  • Loudon Wainwright Hasn’t Got the Blues (Yet) Emerging with his eponymous debut in 1970, singer/songwriter Loudon Wainwright III found himself lumped along with fellow post-Dylan folk-revivalists Leonard Cohen, Cat Stevens and Randy Newman. But where those contemporaries relied on abstract imagery or p | 9/17/2014
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus