Trending
MOST READ
Best Brunch

Best Brunch

Best of SA 2013: 4/24/2013

Best Spa

Best of 2013: 4/24/2013
Best Vietnamese Restaurant

Best Vietnamese Restaurant

Best of SA 2013: 4/24/2013
Beaches Be Trippin\': Five Texas Coast Spots Worth the Drive

Beaches Be Trippin': Five Texas Coast Spots Worth the Drive

Arts & Culture: Let’s face it, most of us Lone Stars view the Texas coast as a poor man’s Waikiki. Hell, maybe just a poor man’s Panama Beach — only to be used... By Callie Enlow 7/10/2013
Chris Pérez, Selena’s Husband, Faces His Past and Looks Forward, Musically

Chris Pérez, Selena’s Husband, Faces His Past and Looks Forward, Musically

Music: Chris Pérez never saw it coming. “All I ever wanted to do was play guitar,” he told the Current. “I never thought I’d be the subject of an interview... By Enrique Lopetegui 8/28/2013
Calendar

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

Follow us on Instagram @sacurrent

Print Email

Aural Pleasure Review

New Music Review: Nine Inch Nails’ ‘Hesitation Marks’

Photo: , License: N/A


From the stark, violent drone of opener “The Eater of Dreams,” Trent Reznor packs his return to the moniker of Nine Inch Nails with dark, manic electro-pop with a Sarin twist. But what else is to be expected from Reznor? Like a David Lynch aural equivalent, his records sound like nightmarish soundtracks for imaginary films (and real flicks too, like the gorgeous, Oscar-winning score for 2010’s The Social Network). Back with NIN after a five-year hiatus from the name, Reznor is in his comfort zone, perfecting the intoxicating blend of driving electronic beats under the haze of industrial noise and language-articulating paranoia and self-loathing. With NIN’s 10th, Reznor seems to favor the electro over the noisy, catering to the Aphex Twin in his blood over his industrial and shoegaze inspirations. And rightly so—the tracks that carry the vibe of some hellish, crystal-blue-persuaded nightclub certainly drive the album. Still, Hesitation Marks doesn’t quite offer enough of a break from the Nails’ prior output, like the fabulous With Teeth and Pretty Hate Machine. As Reznor moans on “Copy of A,” “Everything I say has come before.”

Recently in Music
  • The Permanent Gangsta Status of Mobb Deep’s Prodigy Prodigy, better known to ’90s rap aficionados as the prodigious half of Queensbridge duo Mobb Deep, has made a successful career operating on... | 9/17/2014
  • Our Picks for the 31st Annual Jazz’SAlive Eddie Palmieri: 9:30pm Saturday. Jazz’SAlive has traditionally made sure to clear at least one headlining space for Latin jazz... | 9/17/2014
  • Loudon Wainwright Hasn’t Got the Blues (Yet) Emerging with his eponymous debut in 1970, singer/songwriter Loudon Wainwright III found himself lumped along with fellow post-Dylan folk-revivalists Leonard Cohen, Cat Stevens and Randy Newman. But where those contemporaries relied on abstract imagery or p | 9/17/2014
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus