Trending
MOST READ
Beaches Be Trippin\': Five Texas Coast Spots Worth the Drive

Beaches Be Trippin': Five Texas Coast Spots Worth the Drive

Arts & Culture: Let’s face it, most of us Lone Stars view the Texas coast as a poor man’s Waikiki. Hell, maybe just a poor man’s Panama Beach — only to be used... By Callie Enlow 7/10/2013
Chris Pérez, Selena’s Husband, Faces His Past and Looks Forward, Musically

Chris Pérez, Selena’s Husband, Faces His Past and Looks Forward, Musically

Music: Chris Pérez never saw it coming. “All I ever wanted to do was play guitar,” he told the Current. “I never thought I’d be the subject of an interview... By Enrique Lopetegui 8/28/2013
Best Karaoke Night

Best Karaoke Night

Best of SA 2013: 4/24/2013
Chris Perez, husband of slain Tejana icon Selena, tells of romance, suffering

Chris Perez, husband of slain Tejana icon Selena, tells of romance, suffering

Arts & Culture: In one of the final chapters of his book To Selena, With Love (out March 6), Selena's widower Chris Perez mentions that Abraham Quintanilla, his former father-in-law, once... By Enrique Lopetegui 3/7/2012
Best Happy Hour

Best Happy Hour

Best of SA 2013: 4/24/2013
Calendar

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

Follow us on Instagram @sacurrent

Print Email

Music

Blackbird Sing previews upcoming debut album

Photo: Josh Huskin, License: N/A

Josh Huskin

Blackbird Sing


San Antonio's Blackbird Sing — winner of Shiner Music's Rising Star competition in 2011 — play a hybrid best described as crunchy country or fuck-yeah folk. It's lyrical and stone-faced Americana done Texas-rough and San Anto-haughty and (so far) it's been good enough to earn them a solid reputation even without a proper album out and with limited gigging. That last part, though, is about to change.

With their debut LP, Enemies from Years of Loving, due to be released on Shiner Records sometime in October, the band is looking to get busy booking and playing shows. The first of these shows, which ringleader Vito Salinas refers to as a preview of the still TBA CD release party, will be Friday night at 502 Bar.

It promises to be just the kind of show that sticky late-summer Texas nights were made for: honest, confident, rowdy, and just a little bit sweet for good measure.
"You can expect no fireworks or fluff," Salinas said. " Just five guys playing what we love to play — Texas music!"

Blackbird Sing feat. In and Outlaws and The O's

$5
9pm Fri, Sept 14
502 Bar
502 Embassy Oaks
(210) 257-8125
502bar.com

Recently in Music
  • The Permanent Gangsta Status of Mobb Deep’s Prodigy Prodigy, better known to ’90s rap aficionados as the prodigious half of Queensbridge duo Mobb Deep, has made a successful career operating on... | 9/17/2014
  • Our Picks for the 31st Annual Jazz’SAlive Eddie Palmieri: 9:30pm Saturday. Jazz’SAlive has traditionally made sure to clear at least one headlining space for Latin jazz... | 9/17/2014
  • Loudon Wainwright Hasn’t Got the Blues (Yet) Emerging with his eponymous debut in 1970, singer/songwriter Loudon Wainwright III found himself lumped along with fellow post-Dylan folk-revivalists Leonard Cohen, Cat Stevens and Randy Newman. But where those contemporaries relied on abstract imagery or p | 9/17/2014
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus